Deer Contest

2018 Annual Deer Contest Information Coming Soon!

Texas Trophy Hunters AssociationTM
and VortexTM Optics Present
the 2017 Annual Deer Competition

What can we say about the 2015 Hunters Extravaganza Deer Competition—excellent, superb, and dynamic? All were correct in describing this year’s show of antlers in Houston, Fort Worth, and San Antonio. We didn’t have a deer contest in Corpus Christi at our first show there, but get ready for a good one next year! The trophy quality at the San Antonio show this year was the best ever. We had the No. l and No. 2 non-typical whitetails taken in the state in 2014 entered in the contest, as well as many monster bucks taken both in Texas and out of state.
Texas leads the nation in quality bucks taken each year, regardless of what you may hear from such deer-rich states as Pennsylvania, Wisconsin, Ohio, and New York. That takes some good deer, but Texas hunters kill more trophy whitetails in one year than those states do in four or five years! No wonder so many out-of-state hunters come to Texas to “visit” during the deer season.

The big winners in Houston were: Braden Barone, High Overall Youth with his Archer County buck that scored 186; High Overall Woman went to Carolyn Hoffman with a Kerr County buck that scored 212; and Best of Show went to Ashley Nelson for her open range Dimmit County buck scoring 1505⁄8. Her buck also won People’s Choice.

The Fort Worth Winners were: Thomas Crowell, High Overall Youth with a Tom Green County buck that scored 149; High Overall Woman went to Michelle Hancock with a Hill County buck that scored 164; Best of Show went to David Podany, Sr. for his monstrous Mills County open range buck scoring 173; and People’s Choice winner went to Cody Smith with a Wichita County buck that scored 140.

The San Antonio Competition was one of the best ever for that show. For the first time ever, we had the two best open range non-typicals taken in the state at one show. Larry Bartek’s Atascosa County buck was No.1 at 211, and Phil Hunter’s La Salle County buck was No. 2 at 210. Both bucks are in the All Time Boone and Crockett Record Book.
The big winners at San Antonio were: Del Flores Jr., High Overall Youth with his Maverick County buck scoring 164; High Overall Woman went to Waldine Schnautz with her Frio County buck scoring 189; and of course, Best of Show went to Larry Bartek for his big non-typical scoring 211. Bartek’s buck also won Best of Show.

Fort Worth

August 5-7, 2016
Convention Center
More info


August 12-14, 2016
NRG Center
More info

San Antonio

August 19-21, 2016
Freeman Coliseum Expo Hall
More info

Corpus Christi

August 26-28, 2016
American Bank Center
More info